Metropolis (Blu-ray)

Director: Fritz Lang

Stars: Brigitte Helm Alfred Abel

1927 Germany

Sci-fi Drama Cyberpunk Silent Movie




  • Country: Germany
  • Language: German
  • Year: 1927
  • Runtime: 150
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.37:1
  • Colour: Black & White
  • Certificate: PG
  • Subtitles: English (optional)
  • Genre: Sci-fi
  • SKU: EKA70001
  • 1 Disc
  • Release Date: Nov 22, 2010
Region: B


One of the biggest film events of the century, a “Holy Grail” among film finds, Fritz Lang’s 1927 sci-fi epic can finally be seen — for the first time in 83 years — as the director originally intended and as seen by German cinema-goers in 1927.

Shortly after that 1927 release, an entire quarter of Lang’s original version was cut by Paramount for the US release, and by Ufa in Germany, an act of butchery very much against the director’s wishes. The excised footage was believed lost, irretrievably so — that is, until one of the most remarkable finds in all of cinema history, as several dusty reels were discovered in a small museum in Buenos Aires, Argentina in 2008. Since then, an expert team of film archivists has been working at the Friedrich-Wilhelm-Murnau-Stiftung in Germany to painstakingly reconstruct and restore Lang’s film. The Masters of Cinema Series is proud to present the spectacular results — as premièred at the prestigious Berlinale in early 2010 and subsequently seen at cinemas throughout the UK & Ireland


  • 150-minute reconstructed and restored 2010 version (including 25 minutes of footage previously thought lost to the world) in a 1080p AVC encode
  • New 2010 symphony orchestra studio recording of the original Gottfried Huppertz score in 5.1
  • Newly translated optional English subtitles as well as the original German intertitles
  • Full-length audio commentary by David Kalat and Jonathan Rosenbaum
  • Die Reise nach Metropolis (2010, 55 minutes) documentary about the film
  • 2010 re-release trailer
  • 56-PAGE BOOKLET featuring an archival article by Fritz Lang; a 1927 review by Luis Buñuel; articles by Jonathan Rosenbaum and Karen Naundorf; and restoration notes by Martin Koerber

You may also enjoy